Economics PA announces 2013 award recipient

NORTHUMBERLAND — A local bank president is set to receive the EconomicsPennsylvania Adam Smith Award this year.  J. Donald Steele, Jr., President and CEO of Northumberland National Bank has been selected to receive the award for distinguished leadership.

The award is presented annually to a community leader who best represents and emulates the values and high standards of EconomicsPennsylvania and the outstanding work they do with teachers and students throughout the Commonwealth.

Previous Adam Smith awardees include former Pennsylvania State Representative Merle H. Phillips, former Bucknell University President, Gary Sojka, Pennsylvania State Senator John R. Gordner, Art Bowen of the Bowen Agency Realtors, Roger Haddon, President and CEO of Sunbury Broadcasting Corporation, and last year’s winner H. W. “Skip” Wieder of Geisinger Medical Center.

President and CEO of Economics PA, Fritz Heinemann said, “His commitment to young people and educational endeavors is an example we hope others will emulate and all of us associated with EconomicsPennsylvania are delighted that such an outstanding citizen is being recognized with our highest volunteer award.”

A luncheon in Steele’s honor is scheduled for November 7 at the Susquehanna Valley Country Club.  For additional information you can visit  (Codi Jade)




Powered by Facebook Comments