SUN Red Cross awards presented to 14 ‘Heroes’

2014 Sun Area Chapter American Red Cross Heroe's Breakfast

LEWISBURG — The 14 recipients of American Red Cross Heroes awards Friday varied from the young–to 80-plus years old, from a heroic moment–to a lifetime of achievement. The awards were presented by the SUN Area Chapter of the Red Cross.

One of the awards was presented to young Nick Daniloff of Lewisburg, he was 11 when Super Storm Sandy devastated the east coast. He organized ‘Rides for Rockaway, and using social media and traditional media, gathered, with the help of many others, 86 bikes to send to New Jersey.

Kevin Mertz of Milton, a reporter for the Milton Standard-Journal newspaper, received the International Service Award for this effort to send thousands of stuffed animals and toys to third world countries.

Emma Gearhart of Lewisburg received the 2014 Community Service award for her volunteer efforts which began in high school. She has been volunteering with her church, the Red Cross and other organizations ever since–and she did her first Honduras mission trip when she was 80-years-old (and that was several years ago).

Dr. Pat Bruno of Geisinger Medical Center and the Center for Child Protection, received the Dr. Charles Fasano Memorial Medical Hero award.

Graham Showalter received the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award for Philanthropy.

Shelby Hackenberg of Mifflinburg received the 2014 Medical Advocate award.

Spencer Dunkle of Mifflinburg received the Youth Good Samaritan award for Aquatics.

Jay Helmer, of Susquehanna University received the 2014 Academic Advisor award for Advocacy.

Kristina Mowery of Winfield received the American Red Cross Volunteer of the Year award.

Donald Swartz of Richfield received the 2014 Good Samaritan (adult) award.

Rachel Ladd of Lewisburg got the Youth Health and Safety award.

Richard Simpson of Northumberland received the 2014 Military Hero award.

Cpl. Travis Burrows of the Buffalo Township PD received the Public Safety Hero award.

Valerie Flamini-Caldwell received the Community Impact Arts and Music award.





Powered by Facebook Comments